5 Bharat Ratna Awardees of 2024: Here’s the List of awardees

The Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in the country. The Modi government has announced five Bharat Ratna awards for LK Advani, PV Narasimha Rao, Chaudhary Charan Singh, MS Swaminathan and Karpoori Thakur

Bharat Ratna

As you might know or should know, the Bharat Ratna is India’s highest civilian award, provided in honour of exceptional service or performance. The award makes no distinction based on race, profession, status, or gender. It is presented by the President of India. The Prime Minister makes recommendations for this highly esteemed award, and the recipients are presented with a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President, as well as a peepal leaf-shaped medallion.

In general, three Bharat Ratna awards are given annually. But this year, the government of India has named five individuals for the Bharat Ratna. LK Advani, PV Narasimha Rao, Chaudhary Charan Singh, MS Swaminathan and Karpoori Thakur have been awarded the Bharat Ratna this year, as announced by PM Modi.

Let’s see why these individuals are awarded the country’s most prestigious award.

Lk Advani

L.K. Advani, an iconic figure in Indian politics, was Deputy Prime Minister from 2002 to 2004. He was known for his key role in the Ram Janmabhoomi movement and for being the longest-serving Leader of the Opposition. He served as president of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for decades. He served in several key positions under Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s leadership, including Home Minister.

PV Narasimha Rao

Rao served a full five-year term as India’s Prime Minister from 1991 to 1996. During his tenure, he was vital in implementing comprehensive economic reforms that reshaped the Indian economy. He is recognized as the designer of liberalization. Rao’s leadership resulted in the abolishment of the restrictive License Raj and the implementation of the New Economic Policy, which paved the way for unprecedented economic growth and modernization in India.

In honouring the late Narasimha Rao, who died in 2004, PM Modi expressed deep admiration for his many contributions to the nation as a distinguished scholar and statesman.

Karpoori Thakur

Thakur was Bihar’s 11th Chief Minister, serving two terms from 1970 to 1971 and 1977 to 1979. Notably, in 1978 he spearheaded the implementation of the reservation policy for state government jobs, a historic initiative aimed at promoting socioeconomic equality.

Thakur is amiably known as ‘Jan Nayak’ (people’s leader). he will become the 49th recipient of this prestigious award.

Charan Singh

Charan Singh, India’s 5th Prime Minister from 1979 to 1980, was a solid advocate for farmers’ rights. Recognized as a prominent political figure, he dedicated himself to agrarian reforms and developed policies to address the concerns of the farming community.

Singh, a prominent Jat leader from western Uttar Pradesh, had a strong influence on the people of his region. As prime minister during a period of significant political realignment, he was instrumental in leading anti-Congress politics and challenging the Congress party’s dominant influence.

Prime Minister Modi expressed deep gratitude for the opportunity to confer the Bharat Ratna on Singh.

M. S. Swaminathan

M. S. Swaminathan known as the “Father of the Green Revolution in India,” had a lasting impact on the country’s agricultural landscape. As Director General of the Indian Council of Agricultural Research, he oversaw transformative initiatives that transformed Indian agriculture.

Prime Minister Modi was overjoyed when his government decided to posthumously award Swaminathan the Bharat Ratna, recognizing his outstanding contributions to agriculture and farmer welfare. Modi praised Swaminathan’s visionary leadership which was essential in ensuring the nation’s food security and prosperity. The Prime Minister also reflected on his connection with Swaminathan, praising the renowned agronomist’s wisdom and invaluable contributions before his death last year.

Dear readers,

If you wish to read our other blogs click here

if you wish to read a blog from another website click here


1. What is the Bharat Ratna award?

A. The Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in India, bestowed in recognition of exceptional service or performance across various fields. It is awarded without any discrimination based on race, profession, status, or gender.

2. Which 5 individuals are awarded?

The recipients include L.K. Advani, PV Narasimha Rao, Chaudhary Charan Singh, MS Swaminathan, and Karpoori Thakur, as announced by Prime Minister Modi.

3. What were the contributions of the awardees to receive the Bharat Ratna?

A. Each recipient of the Bharat Ratna has made significant contributions to India. L.K. Advani played a key role in Indian politics and the Ram Janmabhoomi movement. PV Narasimha Rao implemented crucial economic reforms during his tenure as Prime Minister. Karpoori Thakur focused on promoting socioeconomic equality during his tenure as Bihar’s Chief Minister. Charan Singh advocated for farmers’ rights and agrarian reforms. M.S. Swaminathan revolutionized Indian agriculture as the “Father of the Green Revolution.”

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top