BJP President JP Nadda Resigns as Rajya Sabha Member

BJP chief JP Nadda was representing Himachal Pradesh in the Upper House. On Monday, he resigned from his position as a Rajya Sabha member from Himachal, and his resignation has been accepted by the Rajya Sabha Chairman.

JP Nadda

It’s a sunny afternoon. The BJP office in Ahmedabad is filled with a buzz of activity. Volunteers are discussing campaign strategies, while some senior members are making calls, preparing for the upcoming Gujarat Lok Sabha election in 2024.

In the middle of this hustle and bustle, Vaibhav, the youngest volunteer, read one of the headlines of the article, ” BJP chief Nadda resigns as Rajya Sabha MP.” Suddenly, everyone stops working.

“What did you say?” Senior Member Prakash asks.

Vaibhav: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) National President Jagat Prakash Nadda resigned from his Rajya Sabha seat, He was representing Himachal Pradesh.

“Was his resignation accepted?” another senior member, Santosh, says.

Vaibhav: Yes, Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankar accepted JP Nadda’s resignation on 4th March 2024.

Prakash murmurs, “In February, he secured his position in the Rajya Sabha from Gujarat without any opposition, and now he has resigned.”.

Vaibhav: I know. During the Rajya Sabha election, he was one of 41 candidates who won without facing any challengers, but he will remain Rajyasabh MP from Gujrat.

Santosh: This must have been part of the party’s strategy.

Prakash: Of course.

Vaibhav: JP Nadda’s and the other 57 Rajya Sabha members’ tenure is ending in April, right?

Santosh: Yes. But as BJP president, his term has been extended until June.

Vibhav: hmm.

Prakash: He is a senior and experienced member of the party.
that is why JP Nadda was made President of the BJP on January 20, 2020, after serving as the Union health minister from 2014 to 2019.

Vibhav: The recent BJP victory in the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Himachal Pradesh was excellent. Harsh Mahajan from the BJP won the election and became a Member of Parliament in the Rajya Sabha. He defeated Abhishek Manu Singhvi from the Congress.

Santosh: Yeah, it was great, BJP won even though the Congress party leads the state government. The party had only 25 MLAs and still won the election.

Prakash: credit goes to those SIx Congress MLAs who voted in BJP’s favour, which led to a tie and ultimately BJP won by Surprising lottery.

Santosh: Do you remember the Congress’ reaction? How worried they became when some members of the Congress party rebelled.

Prakash: it was an obvious reaction. it could have led to the Downfall of Sukhwinder Singh Suku’s government in the state.

Santosh: By the way, what is happening with JP Nadda’s vacant Rajya Sabha seat?

Vaibhav: J P Nadda’s seat is empty from 4th March. what do you think why did J P Nadda resign?

Prakash: Elections are coming, bringing along many such things. we have to wait to get the answer to this.

Santosh: So, let’s get back to work and keep us informed about updates.

Vaibhav: sure.

Dear Readers,

If you wish to read our other blogs, click here

If you wish to read a blog from another website, click here


1. When did JP Nadda resign from his position as a Rajya Sabha member from Himachal Pradesh?

JP Nadda resigned from his position as a Rajya Sabha member on Monday, 4th March 2024.

2. Who accepted JP Nadda’s resignation?

Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankar accepted JP Nadda’s resignation.

3. Will JP Nadda continue to be a Rajya Sabha MP from Gujarat?

Yes, JP Nadda will remain a Rajya Sabha MP from Gujarat despite resigning from his Himachal Pradesh seat.

4. What led to the BJP’s victory in the Himachal Pradesh Rajya Sabha election despite having fewer MLAs than the Congress?

The BJP’s victory was made possible by six Congress MLAs who voted in their favour, leading to a tie that was eventually resolved in BJP’s favour through a lottery.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top